« Split P Soup | Main | Time to Move On »
October 01, 2003
I've Been Google Bombed (Update)
Beep beep went the cell phone. I had a comment on my blog. Was there going to be some interesting conversation? Nope, just the comment Mishka rules. Oh, well. Someone wanted to promote their site. I decided to let it slide. Then an hour later, beep. Another Mishka rules on the same blog entry. OK, time to delete the comments and ban the I.P. Then, again, beep. This time on my old blog. Lather, rinse, repeat.
Then I find mishka dot com listed high on blogdex, and google page rank of 4 (all this for a coming soon web page). Now time to play net detective. One blocked I.P. is from British Columbia. Another is from Lagos Nigeria. The web site is hosted by Hurricane Electric in San Jose and registered to a Rick Morbey in the Bahamas. Really weird.
Anybody else pestered by this Mishka fellow?
UPDATE:
I have been working with the owner of mishka.com to get to the bottom of this. He appears to be a victim, also. Just today, Boris, Mishka's cousin has shown up. It bombs the exact same comments. If you are being bombed by either of these close the comments on that post. The IPs have been traced to the U.S., Brazil, Canada, and Nigeria. Either this is a virus or worm, or the IPs are being spoofed.
Posted by Rich at 01:20 PM in Weblogs | Permalink | Edit(Rich only)
TrackBack
TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/t/trackback/163432
Listed below are links to weblogs that reference I've Been Google Bombed (Update):
Comments
Comments are subject to moderation. The moderation criterion is simple. If the comment is not spam, then it will be allowed. If you don't see your comment immediately, it only means I haven't gotten around to approving it.
Hi,
... just to let you know that someone is hijacking the 'mishka.com' site and doing mischief with it. I am the owner of the dedicated server that hosts the site, and neither Mishka nor anyone here has sent out spam of any kind. The 'abuse' people at Hurricane sent me a formal complaint and an example of one of the messages. It was sent by a 'mishka@aol.com'. The genuine Mishka has never had or used this address and neither have I.
Rick Morbey
Posted by: Rick Morbey at Sep 30, 2003 4:09:50 AM
Sorry to hear about that. If the abuse people need more info here were two I.P.'s I banned for the comments.:
216.133.174.16
208.181.21.195
Posted by: Rich at Sep 30, 2003 8:50:37 AM
Yeah, I've gotten a few Mishka comments on my TypePad & MT blogs. I think it's got to be a bot, prob. a virii payload. I've seen too many around for it to just be some guy sitting at a computer.
Posted by: Glenn Slaven at Oct 3, 2003 1:00:12 AM
hmm.. that is wierd.
I have seen the name around.
Posted by: Jake at Oct 4, 2003 11:04:59 AM
Hey,
Id love to buy mishka.com, if you guys track down this guy/girl. Anybuddy have any info?
THanks
Mishka
Posted by: the other mishka at Jan 25, 2004 11:09:35 PM